Résumé : Synthesis, by Hewett's method, of benzo[a] naphtho [2,1‐j]anthracene, naphtho[2,1‐c]chrysene, benzo[a]picene and 8,16‐dimethoxycarbonylbenzo[c] naphtho[2,1‐1]chrysene. The title compounds 8b, 9b and 10b were obtained by potash fusion of α‐(1‐bromo‐2‐naphthyl)‐β‐(2‐phenanthryl) acrylic acid (7) followed by decarboxylation. The dicarboxylic ester 13 was prepared a. by potash fusion of 12a and 12b followed by esterification b. by the double photocyclisation of the dimethyl esters 12b and 12c. Copyright © 1983 Wiley‐VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim